Thursday, April 19, 2018

The Continuation of an Emancipatory Process
The Ninth Legislature of the National Assembly of People’s Power, constituted April 18, symbolizes the continuation of an emancipatory process that has brought us here today. Thirty one Council of State candidates were also elected during the session

Author: Lissy Rodríguez Guerrero |
Author: Yudy Castro Morales |
April 19, 2018 13:04:13

Army General Raúl Castro casts his vote. Photo: Estudio Revolución

It was an official session, as dictated by law, and also a historic one, just like every national event which brings generations together, where principles reaffirmed and commitment are strengthened.
The constitution, April 18, of the National Assembly of People’s Power (ANPP) in its Ninth Legislature, symbolizes the continuation of an emancipatory process that has brought us here today and which we have the challenge of continuing to build.

The constituent session took place with the presence of Army General Raúl Castro Ruz, first secretary of the Communist Party of Cuba, during which, via a secret, direct vote, the 604 deputies in attendance reelected Esteban Lazo Hernández as President of the National Assembly of People’s Power, as well as Ana María Mari Machado as vice president, and Miriam Brito Sarroca as secretary.

As dictated by electoral law, the session was opened by Alina Balseiro Gutiérrez, pesident of the National Electoral Commission, who read aloud the names of the 605 deputies elected last March 11, and validated their election, with the Army General himself being the first to present his certificate.
Regarding the composition of the Assembly, Balseiro Gutiérrez reported that of the 605 deputies, 47.4% are constituency delegates. The principle of renovation and ratification was reaffirmed, with 56.03% elected for the first time. Of the returning deputies, 147 have served only one prior term.

Women, she noted, represent 53.22% of the deputies, 179 of whom are constituency delegates, while 24 are under 35 years of age, well below the legislature’s average of 49. Likewise, youth between 18 and 35 years of age account for 13.2%, while 87.6% of deputies were born after the triumph of the Revolution.

A total of 524 deputies hold university degrees, 40.5% are Black or mixed race, and 32.39% work in the production or service sectors. Balseiro Gutiérrez also noted that 133 deputies are members of local People’s Power bodies.

Following this report, Leydimara de la Caridad Cárdenas Isasi, the Assembly’s youngest representative, at only 19 years of age, read aloud the oath which was signed by all deputies and in which their commitment to “remain loyal to the homeland, and ensure that the Constitution and other legal regulations are fulfilled,” was highlighted.

Once all established procedures had been completed, and the quorum validated, Alina Balseiro declared the Ninth Legislature of the National Assembly of People’s Power officially constituted.


Gisela Duarte Vázquez, president of the National Candidatures Commission, announced to deputies the proposed candidates for the positions of President, Vice President, and Secretary of the National Assembly of People’s Power, as well as nominees to occupy the 31 seats on the Council of State.

She stressed that “intense days of work and consultations have been undertaken in order to ensure maximum transparency in the selection of candidates, bearing in mind nominees’ merits, abilities, track record, and above all their commitment to serving the people.”

Duarte Vázquez stated that the effort was directed toward a strengthened National Assembly, situated at the forefront during a stage of the Revolution which is of great political significance. Thus, proposed to occupy the leading roles in the National Assembly were Esteban Lazo Hernández, Ana María Mari Machado and Miriam Brito Sarroca.

Regarding Esteban Lazo Hernández, a member of the Party Political Bureau, Duarte Vázquez noted that he has efficiently fulfilled this responsibility as ANPP President over the last five years, during which he has dedicated all his efforts to ensuring that the body fulfills its important responsibilities, and to improving its work.

Likewise, the results achieved by Ana María Mari Machado in her work as ANPP vice president since 2012, were recognized.

The successful efforts of Miriam Brito Sarroca were also highlighted, as well as the contribution of her experience over two terms.

In accordance with the law, the candidature slate was submitted for approval before deputies exercised their right to vote, via a secret, direct ballot. After the results were announced, the elected officials were sworn in.


At the proposal of the recently reelected ANPP President, Gisela Duarte Vázquez read aloud the candidature slate for the 31 members of the Council of State, the result of a thorough analysis of Assembly members and useful, valuable consultations with the 605 deputies.

According to Duarte Vázquez, the legislators highlighted that candidates must have the sufficient will, merit, and commitment to continue effectively improving our socialist system.

The candidature slate, she noted, features deputies who occupy leadership roles across different structures from the grassroots to the highest levels; it includes 15 women, while over 40% of nominees are Black or mixed race, with new candidates representing 35.48%, an average age of 54, although over 70% of candidates were born after the triumph of the Revolution.


- President of the Council of State: Miguel Mario Díaz-Canel Bermúdez

- First Vice President: Salvador Valdés Mesa

- Vice Presidents:

Ramiro Valdés Menéndez,

Roberto Tomás Morales Ojeda

Gladys María Bejerano Portela

Inés María Chapman Waugh

Beatriz Jhonson Urrutia

- Secretary: Homero Acosta Álvarez


Leopoldo Cintra Frías
Teresa María Amarelle Boué,
Ulises Guilarte de Nacimiento,
Miriam Nicado García,
Guillermo García Frías,
Bruno Rodríguez Parrilla,
Martha del Carmen Mesa Valenciana,
Carlos Rafael Miranda Martínez,
Susely Morfa González,
Rafael Antonio Santiesteban Pozo,
Miguel Ángel Barnet Laza,
Ileana Amparo Flores Morales.

New Members:
Raúl Alejandro Palmero Fernández,
Jorge Amador Berlanga Acosta,
Yipsy Moreno González,
Elizabeth Peña Turruellas,
Yoerky Sánchez Cuéllar,
Ivis Niuba Villa Milán,
Bárbara Alexis Terry,
Reina Salermo Escalona,
Rosalina Fournier Frómeta,
Carlos Alberto Martínez Blanco,
Felicia Martínez Suárez.

After being approved by the 604 deputies in attendance, the candidature slate was submitted to a direct and secret ballot vote.

No comments: