Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Zuma Drafts in 20 Newcomers
President Jacob Zuma of the Republic of South Africa.
May 27, 2014

CAPE TOWN. — President Jacob Zuma on Sunday appointed a new cabinet. Among them was African National Congress deputy president Cyril Ramaphosa who is now the country’s deputy president.Zuma’s new cabinet includes 20 members who have never served at national executive level before, though most are no strangers to the cut and thrust of high politics.

Seven of the newcomers were appointed as ministers, while the other 13 are deputy ministers. The group includes:

State Security Minister David Mahlobo, who previously served as head of co-operative governance and traditional affairs in Mpumalanga. He is also a member of the ANC’s national executive committee. Mahlobo holds an honours degree in biochemistry from the University of Zululand.

Police Minister Nkosinathi Nhleko, formerly director general of the labour department, a post he held from 2011. An MP from 1994 to 2005, Nhleko also served as the ANC’s chief whip in the National Assembly for two years.

Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Minister Senzeni Zokwana, former president of the National Union of Mineworkers and an ANC MP. He has a strong trade union background going back to the early 1980s.

Water and Sanitation Minister Nomvula Mokonyane, the former Gauteng premier holds a certificate in economics and finance from Harvard Business School.

Public Enterprises Minister Lynne Brown, the former opposition leader in the Western Cape legislature, where she has served continuously since 1994. Brown served as the ANC premier in the province from July 2008, before her party lost the region to the DA in 2009.

Small Business Development Minister Lindiwe Zulu, is Zuma’s former international adviser. She is also a member of the ANC’s national working committee. Zulu holds a Master of Arts degree.

Communications Minister Faith Muthambi was a former municipal manager at Makhado municipality before she moved to Parliament to serve as an ANC MP.

Defence and Military Veterans Deputy Minister Kebby Maphatsoe, chairperson of the Umkhonto we Sizwe Military Veterans Association.
Deputy Minister in the Presidency Buti Manamela, an ANC MP and national secretary of the Young Communist League of SA.

Agriculture, Forestry, and Fisheries Deputy Minister Bheki Cele, a former member of the KwaZulu-Natal legislature. He once served as national police commissioner, but was suspended in 2011 and fired from the post the next year.

State Security Deputy Minister Ellen Molekane, a former deputy director general in the defence department.

Trade and Industry Deputy Minister Mzwandile Masina, a senior official with the ANC Youth League.

International Relations and Co-operation Deputy Minister Nomaindia Mfeketo, the former deputy speaker in the National Assembly. She served as mayor of Cape Town from 2002 to 2006.

Mfeketo holds an Honorary Doctorate in Law, conferred by the University of Cape Town. She is also a member of the ANC’s national executive committee.

International Relations and Co-operation Deputy Minister Lluwelyn Landers has served as an ANC MP since 1994 and as chairman of the National Assembly’s justice and constitutional development committee.

Deputy Finance Minister Mcebisi Jonas is a former MEC with the Eastern Cape legislature.

Rural Development and Land Reform Deputy Minister Mcebisi Skwatsha is the secretary of the ANC in the Western Cape.

Rural Development and Land Reform Deputy Minister Candith Mashego-Dlamini (54), is a member of the ANC’s national executive committee. She formerly served as an MEC on the Mpumalanga legislature. Mashego-Dlamini holds Bachelors degree in Arts and Educational Science, as well as a teaching diploma.

Economic Development Deputy Minister Madala Masuku, the former MEC for co-operative governance and traditional affairs in Mpumalanga.

Deputy Labour Minister Patekile Holomisa, an ANC MP and president of the Congress of Traditional Leaders of South Africa. He is also Chief of the AmaGebe Tribe.

Deputy Energy Minister Thembi Majola formerly served as a senior official in the presidency.

— Sapa.

No comments: