Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Ghana: CPP Elects New Executives
Former Chairperson of the Convention People’s Party (CPP), Samia Yaba Nkrumah, addressing National Delegates Congress of the CPP in the Bono-Ahafo Regional Capital, Sunyani.

The 2015 National Delegate’s Congress of the Convention People’s Party (CPP) ended peacefully last Saturday in Sunyani.

The voting in into office executives of the party, was conducted and supervised by officials of the Electoral Commission (EC).

More than 2,500 delegates of the Party cast their ballots in an atmosphere of tranquility, amidst tight security.

Professor Edmund Delle, a leading member of the Party was elected National Chairman by a popular acclamation.

Nii Armah Akomfrah was elected the General Secretary with 808 votes, whereas Kwabena Bomfeh obtained 698 and Korsi Dodey, 407 votes.

The National Organiser’s position was won by Emmanuel Kwao Ogbojor with 762 votes to beat his two other contenders, Rashid Alao, 748 votes, and Appiah Amankwaah, 453 votes.

Hajia Hamdatu obtained 551 votes to win the first Vice Chair position; Susan Adu Amankwaa secured 467 votes for the second Vice Chair with Alhaji Amidu Tijani obtaining 287 votes for the third Vice Chair.

Mr Samuel Gordon Etroo was voted the National Treasurer with 1,142 votes, beating his only contender Dr Adolf Luttroidt who had 807 votes, whilst Enersto Yeboah garnered 878 votes to win the National Youth Organiser’s position.

The Women Organiser’s position went to Isha Sule Futa who had 1,035 votes to beat her sole contestant Anita Harriet Abaidoo who obtained 946 votes.

Prof Delle, on behalf of the newly-elected executives, thanked the delegates for the confidence reposed in them and was optimistic that with unity of purpose, all members of the Party would join the campaign for victory in the Election 2016.

The out-going Chairperson of the Convention People’s Party (CPP), Samia Yaba Nkrumah, Congratulated the newly-elected CPP National Executives.

She urged Party members to reject any idea of the CPP partnering with either the National Democratic Congress (NDC) or the New Patriotic Party (NPP) but rather stick to the principles of the CPP.

According to her, 2016 marks fifty years since the overthrow of the last CPP Government, adding that the time has come for them to work hard to win the next elections.


No comments: