Saturday, November 25, 2006

Aretha Franklin Records Duet With Mary J. Blige in New Film on Robert Kennedy

From Monsters and

Soundtracks News

‘Bobby’ soundtrack features new single from Aretha Franklin and
Mary J. Blige

By Patrick Luce
Nov 15, 2006, 19:00 GMT

Underscoring one of the most tragic, life-changing events in American history – the assassination of Senator Robert Kennedy at the Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles in June 1968 – as envisioned by director/screenwriter Emilio Estevez in the upcoming movie Bobby, Island Def Jam will release the original motion picture sound­track album showcasing music by the premiere artists of the 1960s.

The movie (from the Weinstein Company and MGM) opened in New York and Los Angeles on Friday, November 17th, and the album arrived in stores the following Tuesday, November 21st. The movie then had its wide release to more than 1,500 screens on Thanksgiving Day, November 23rd.

Heralding the soundtrack album is “Never Gonna Break My Faith” - a newly recorded single by Aretha Franklin and Mary J. Blige, co-written and co-produced by Bryan Adams. The song is currently heard on Bobby’s theatrical trailer.

“More than any other time in our history, the most memorable recordings from the 1960s reflected upon and influenced our culture,” said Antonio “L.A.” Reid, Chairman, Island Def Jam Music Group. “Aretha and Mary’s uplifting rendition of ‘Never Gonna Break My Faith,’ along with the historic cast assembled for this soundtrack album – sum up all our hopes and dreams for a better world.”

After an introductory excerpt from a speech by RFK, the ‘Bobby’ soundtrack album opens with “Never Gonna Break My Faith,” followed by nearly a dozen touchstones from the era: “Tracks Of My Tears” (Smokey Robinson & the Miracles), “Come See About Me” (the Supremes), “Function At The Junction” (Shorty Long), “I Was Made To Love Her” (Stevie Wonder), “Tuesday Afternoon” (Moody Blues), “Black Is Black” (Los Bravos), “Ain’t That Peculiar” (Marvin Gaye), “Baby I Love You” (Aretha Franklin), “Grazing In The Grass” (Hugh Masekela), “Louie Louie” (newly-recorded by Demi Moore for her role in the film), and “The Sound Of Silence” (Simon & Garfunkel).

The album also includes two tracks of award-winning composer Mark Isham’s original score, the last of which underpins RFK’s “Mindless Menace of Violence” speech.

Already being touted on the fast track for Academy Award consideration, Bobby was written and directed by Emilio Estevez. The film follows 22 people who are at the Ambassador Hotel for different purposes but share the common thread of anticipating RFK’s arrival at the Democratic Primary election night party, which would change their lives forever. This historic night is set against the backdrop of difficult social issues gripping the country at the time, including racism, sexual inequality and class differences.

Among the all-star cast of Bobby is Anthony Hopkins, Demi Moore, Sharon Stone, Lindsay Lohan, Harry Belafonte, Elijah Wood, William H. Macy, Helen Hunt, Christian Slater, Laurence Fishburne, Freddy Rodriguez, Ashton Kutscher, Nick Cannon, Emilio Estevez, Shia LaBeouf, and Martin Sheen.

No comments: